3 speed input shaft

This is your place for high horsepower and traction!

3 speed input shaft

Postby WHYDE » Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:39 pm

I think the rear in my 1806 has a non-factory input shaft ( 3 speed transaxle) in it,it seems to run faster than it should, looked like someone had pulled with before I got. I don't know anything about these can you get one to make it run slower than factory want to put 26x12-12 on a tractor, so I want to slow it down.Any info is good. Thanks
WHYDE
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:40 am
City and State: Crittenden, Kentucky 41030
First and Last Name: Wayne Hyde

Re: 3 speed input shaft

Postby Farmallgray » Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:56 pm

Wayne,
Yes they make overdrives and underdrives. You would need to change both gears (the small input pinion gear/shaft and the bigger gear it meshes with).
See my IH, Cub Cadet and tractor pulling youtube videos;
http://www.youtube.com/user/farmallgray
User avatar
Farmallgray
Moderator
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:39 am
City and State: Spring Mills, Pa
First and Last Name: Todd Markle

Re: 3 speed input shaft

Postby WHYDE » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:57 am

I saw a 10% underdrive on evilpay is this slower and whats a good price for one. Would this be enough to offset the 23" to 26" tire dia. difference? Looked these up on midwest cub looks like a bit to much cost for me. THANKS
WHYDE
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:40 am
City and State: Crittenden, Kentucky 41030
First and Last Name: Wayne Hyde

Re: 3 speed input shaft

Postby Farmallgray » Sun Jan 09, 2011 9:26 am

Wayne,
If you figure out what gears are in it now, and they happen to be an aftermarket overdrive set, you could probably sell them to a puller or maybe trade them for an underdrive set.

Here is a site with free classified ads for garden tractor pulling;
http://www.gtpulling.com/classifieds/index.php
See my IH, Cub Cadet and tractor pulling youtube videos;
http://www.youtube.com/user/farmallgray
User avatar
Farmallgray
Moderator
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:39 am
City and State: Spring Mills, Pa
First and Last Name: Todd Markle

Re: 3 speed input shaft

Postby WHYDE » Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:16 pm

I have a 1535 tranny according to what I've read on this site they have the 30mm axles, to put these into a older cast iron case the axle tubes have to have the end of axles tubes bored to a larger dia. for larger bearings. So what dia. do they need to be and is expensive to have done going to use steel axle tubes, a lot cheaper and this isn't for a puller just a playtoy. Thanks
WHYDE
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:40 am
City and State: Crittenden, Kentucky 41030
First and Last Name: Wayne Hyde

Re: 3 speed input shaft

Postby Farmallgray » Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:31 pm

It might end up being cheaper to find a set of 1" (25mm) axles. When I did my loader tractor it was cheaper to buy those axles than just the larger bearings and seals would have cost (not including the machine work).
See my IH, Cub Cadet and tractor pulling youtube videos;
http://www.youtube.com/user/farmallgray
User avatar
Farmallgray
Moderator
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:39 am
City and State: Spring Mills, Pa
First and Last Name: Todd Markle

Re: 3 speed input shaft

Postby WHYDE » Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:29 am

I have a set of the 1" axles and carrier also to use or maybe pay for some the other, right now this on my want to try project list, subject to a lot of possiblites. I want to put this in a super frame setup with parts from a 1806. Still have a lot of the super to get rid of also for money for this. On the the cast iron rearend which would be best to use, will be using external brakes on tractor ( turning brakes setup) thanks for the all help.
WHYDE
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 8:40 am
City and State: Crittenden, Kentucky 41030
First and Last Name: Wayne Hyde


Return to Pullers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest