steering wheel removal solved

Post your custom tools or how to information here (caption your photo's) and we'll move any that are good to archive, into the How To section of the manuals.
Forum rules
This section is reserved for semi detailed posts describing how you made a custom tool, or a detailed procedure for repairing a certain assembly of a tractor. Pictures are pretty much required
Posts in this section now have to be approved before they become visible.
If your looking for help repairing something please post in the shooting the breeze or the forum that pertains to your question.
jimmyz
First and Last Name: Jimmy Zucca

steering wheel removal solved

Post by jimmyz »

I've been collecting for three years. I have destroyed a couple of good steering wheels and shafts, and wasted a lot of time trying to remove the former. I knew there had to be a better way...
Check this out. http://www.jzfab.com

wdeturck

Re: steering wheel removal solved

Post by wdeturck »

That looks like a nice tool but I( couldn't find the link to the order form for it.

JMotuzick
First and Last Name: Joe Motuzick

Post by JMotuzick »

I have worked with Jim on this and have tested it on several of my own tractors. The worst was on my 70 i use to mow with. I've owned this one about 4 years I know it was never removed by me or the PO. I hooked it up without any lubricant and used my impact gun on it. About 2 minutes later it came off w/o any damage to any part of the tractor! Well worth it!

Farmallgray
First and Last Name: Todd Markle

Post by Farmallgray »

Jim,
It looks like the lower clamp part could be used with a regular 3 bolt steering wheel puller. If that is the case, you may want to consider selling just the lower part for guys who already have a 3 bolt steering wheel puller.
See my IH, Cub Cadet and tractor pulling youtube videos;
http://www.youtube.com/user/farmallgray

jimmyz
First and Last Name: Jimmy Zucca

Post by jimmyz »