shifting fork replacement

Please stop in here and check out the rules on the stickies and introduce yourself.
oldiron105
First and Last Name: Stacy Leis

shifting fork replacement

Post by oldiron105 »

Hi I am new to cub cadet originals. I am 14 years old .My cub cadet has both of the shifting forks broke. Both of the forks need to be replaced. How do I get the gear of the front of the transmission to remove the shifting rails. or how do I hold the gear to get the gear of the transmission ?

dag1450
First and Last Name: Dave Gibson

Re: shifting fork replacement

Post by dag1450 »

Welcome ! If u r 14 then u know how to post pictures. Lets see some. Glad u joined! Dave
127, 1650, 1572, 1872, 2072 . A mower, blower and blade for each.

oldiron105

Post by oldiron105 »

Hello everyone my name is Stacy. the 14 year old boy that asked the question about the shifter forks is my cousins boy he is the owner of the cub cadet original this is our first attempt at restoring a garden tractor the serial number is 57209 I think its a 1960 but I'm not sure any info on the cub could be very much appreciated I'm trying to figure out how I can hold the gear so I can get bolt loose so then I can pull the gear off so the rails can slide forward so I can replace the shifting forks thank you Stacy
Attachments
cub cadet original
cub cadet original
PART_1434907967229.jpg (78.8 KiB) Viewed 5368 times

dgrapes59
First and Last Name: David Grapes

Post by dgrapes59 »

I believe you will need to remove the reduction gear housing, unbolt the forks and slide the rods back (comes out where the reduction housing bolts up), slide the rods slowly, there is a poppet ball with a spring under it, be careful, it will fly out if you don't put your finger over it. The service manual shows this (Original Chassis manual available in the "Documents and Manuals" section.

Serial # 57209 would be May of 1963, regular production didn't start until 1961 :wink: