Catching the Cub Bug

Please stop in here and check out the rules on the stickies and introduce yourself.
erick
First and Last Name: Erick Feucht

Catching the Cub Bug

Post by erick »

This is my first post to the forum. I got infected by the Cub bug when my father-in-law gave me his old 71. That was back in the eighties. I used it to mow the lawn for a few years then let in languish behind the barn when I was given an newer lawn tractor. After going through a couple of new tractors I was frustrated by their lack of longevity and durability when facing my rocky old New England acres. I spent this summer looking for a good used tractor and my local power equipment repair shop left me discouraged, saying that if they are over five years old they aren't worth buying.

I'm a musician and I was invited to perform at a tractor show at Zagray Farm in Colchester, CT (USA) this past October (where they have a wonderful tractor meet a couple times a year). I was thinking about my search for a tractor when I saw an old Cub Cadet roll by, driven by a father with his young son on his lap. That's when I remembered the 71 that was tarped out behind the barn. I asked Don, my friend in the music booth, who I should talk to about restoring the 71 and he sent me over to Joe Motuzick's booth. We talked for a while and it became clear that this would be a good way to go. I just would have to dig the thing out of the brambles and clean her up. I put together a little YouTube of the process.

(Music: Woodchoppers Reel, a French Canadian fiddle tune...on a sweet Collins mandolin)