Home made implements and tools .

This is just like the old coffee shop, which was like the old coffee shop down the street. Pull up a chair, sit down and enjoy some good discussions. Please, no political, religious or racial posts.
Jlaws
First and Last Name: Jess Laws

Home made implements and tools .

Post by Jlaws »

My friends know that if I'm always making specialized tools or repurposing scrap or junk into something I can use .
A perfect example is when I bought my used tandem axle cub hauler that had a rather large 30 -35 gallon air tank installed on it . A nice ideal , except the previous trailer owner pulled a real bonehead move . Instead of fabricating a bracket / strap system when he fastened it to the tongue of the trailer , he welded it on . Now I'm not an mechanical engineer or metallurgist , but I know welding on metal changes its tensile strength . Plus when he welded it on ( Einstein wasn't much of a welder either as his welds looked like chewing gum ) he blew a small hole in one end of the tank causing it to leak and rendering it useless .

So I ended up cutting the tank off the trailer frame and repurposed it into a lawn roller .... :lol:
After welding up the hole Einstein put in it as well as the ones I put in the ends cutting it off the frame I decided to fill it full of sand .

I went with sand instead of water for two reasons , sand weighs more at 12.7 pounds per gallon where water weighs only 8.3 lbs per gallon . The other reason is I didn't want to worry about forgetting to drain it every fall , so it wouldn't freeze and burst the tank .
It rolls a 42" wide area and weighs a little over 500 lbs and it does a nice job on my mole problem .... :D
I made the entire roller out of scrap metal including the old Uhaul ball hitch that I had laying around and have nothing in it other than time and welding material .
I went with the ball hitch instead if the normal 5/8 pin setup because I didn't want to put excess wear on the cubs hitch plate .